Church Hill 1958-1960

10/07/2008 7:08 AM by

The Adolph B. Rice Studio Collection constitutes a unique photographic record of life in Richmond, Virginia from 1949 to 1961. The collection consists of more than 16,000 4 x 5 inch film negatives from the commercial studio of Adolph B. Rice.

Adolph B. Rice Sr. (1909-1960) opened his first photo studio in Richmond in 1949. The studio remained on North Auburn Avenue until it ceased operation in 1961. Rice was an active member of the Virginia Professional Photographer Association and the Virginia Press Photographers Association. With a reputation for quality commercial work, his clients included businesses, industry, and state and local government. Photo assignments ranged from studio portraits, to aerial views to advertising shots for local department stores. After his death in 1960, the studio was owned and operated by his son Adolph B. Rice, Jr. (1937-1974). The collection was later donated to the Library of Virginia.

Check out the flickr set or visit the collection online at the Library of Virginia.

TAGGED: , , , ,


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *